Almost done

2011 is almost over, and I should probably have mentioned the activities this fall which I have been planning to write about (which have been briefly mentioned in my tweets), from the frame installation at ANX in Oslo, Almost Cinema in Ghent, the acousmonium projection for the Kontraste festival in Krems, the sensxperiment festival in Lucena, the projection on Håkonshallen, the openframeworks workshop at BEK, and finally my current light experiments in my studio this December.

I should mention the frustrating experience of having to shut down the VPT forum with over 500 users due to some malware links which caused my website to be down for two weeks. I made a VPT Googlegroups as a replacement. The motivation to continue development of VPT is rather low at the moment. And I don´t do it for the money: Although over 7500 have downloaded VPT 6 the last four months, I received donations for a total of $360 from 10 individuals (so that´s 5 cent per download). There are a lot more choices when it comes to projection software now compared to when I first released VPT in 2008.

I will mention the first activities for next year, including a performance of  “The queen is the supreme power in the realm” at Radial System Berlin in january (collaboration with Yannis Kyriakides and Musikfabrik for the Ultraschall festival), my first US solo exhibition at Wood Street Galleries in Pittsburgh opening end of January, my first production in India (a collaboration with Choreographer Rukmini Chatterjee and Vreid), and my participation at a big exhibition at ZKM where I will work with the composition “7 cirkler” by Danish composer Else Marie Pade, and somehow I will need to find time to renovate (and eventually move into) my new apartment in Oslo.

Maag Magazine published an interview with me (p58-76) in their latest issue (which came out in late November) which you can read online, or you could listen to the conversation I had with Juan Cantizzani from sensxperiment in October.

Happy holidays!

One Response to “Almost done”

  1. Igor Molochevski (@abadona) Says:

    Hey, I am one of the guilty people who downloaded your software. I am having some issues with speed/perfomance. It seems that it takes a long time from booting to startup, then the software is really slow, am I doing something wrong?


Leave a Reply

